About the Friends

Friends of Cape May National Wildlife Refuge is a NJ Nonprofit corporation founded in 2009.  It received a federal 501(c) 3 designation in June, 2009, enabling it to receive tax-deductible donations and public support.  The board of trustees consists of 12 local residents from municipalities across Cape May County. Friends members are encouraged and welcome to join board committees, including the  Programs, Outreach & Fundraising Committees.

To Volunteer any amount of time and become a Friend of the Cape May National Wildlife Refuge, please email us at friendsofcapemayrefuge@gmail.com 
or call 609-729-2635 or (609) 463-0994

Friends of Cape May NWR Board of Trustees

Board members

Steve Atzert, President

Mary Beth Hueter, Vice President

Vicki Elia Giron,

Ralph Boerner, Secretary and Membership Coordinator

June Karp, Nature Store Co-manager 

Frances McKane, Nature Store Co-manager 

Connie Norteman, Newsletter Editor 

Kimberly Toenniessen, Nature Walk Coordinator 

Veronica Scutero 

Jerry DeMenna 

US Fish and Wildlife Service liaisons

Joseph (Tim) Donnelly, U.S. FWS liaison 

Brian Braudis, U.S. FWS Refuge Manager